Heros_Subpage_TrooperPatch_1920x225px

Active Permits

452,024


Concealed Weapons and Permits

Welcome to the Arizona Department of Public Safety Concealed Weapons Permits Unit website. Here you can find all the relevant information pertaining to concealed weapons within the state of Arizona.

 

 

Our mission is to provide timely and accurate services to our customers. We embrace the latest technologies and welcome innovative ideas to assist our operations in an ever changing industry.

 

 

The Concealed Weapons Permit Unit (CWPU) operates under:
   - Arizona Revised Statute 13-3112
   - Arizona Administrative Rules R13-9-101 through R13-9-603

Optional Information

Social security numbers are optional on the CCW applications. However, providing a social security number will speed up the issuance of a permit in these instances.

 

Expired Concealed Weapons Permit

To renew a Concealed Weapons Permit, the permit holder shall, no more than 90 days before or 60 days after the date of expiration. Please refer to Admin Rule R13-9-204
   • Renewals must be received by the Department within 60 days after the expiration date.
   • Renewals received 61 days after expiration will be returned to the permit holder and a new application with the corresponding new application fee.
   • If an expired permit issued by the Department' is presented as proof that the individual has demonstrated competence with a firearm, the 'permit' they are presenting must be in good standing to be eligible as proof. Revoked permits will not be considered.

      The applicant must:
      • Complete and submit an original Concealed Weapons Permit application
      • Submit two sets of classifiable fingerprints utilizing CWPU approved applicant fingerprint cards
      • Submit your expired Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit card
      • Submit the applicable fee required to obtain a new permit

 

Payment Information

It is recommended that your cashier’s check, or money order have an expiration date of 90 days or more.
   • Personal checks, business checks, credit card payments and cash are NOT accepted.

 

 

How can we help?

Thanks for your interest in contacting the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit of the Arizona Department of Public Safety. You may contact us using any of the methods listed below.

 

 

  Hours:
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.
Closed on all State Holidays.


 

  Email:
Click below to email Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.


 

  Phone
Metro Phoenix: (602) 256-6280
Outside Metro Phoenix (In Arizona): (800) 256-6280


 

  Mail:
Concealed Weapons Permit Unit
MD 3170
P.O. Box 6488
Phoenix, AZ 85005


 

  Address:
Arizona Department of Public Safety
Public Service Center
2222 W. Encanto Blvd
Phoenix, AZ 85009

New Concealed Weapons Permit

- CCW Permit Application Online 
- CCW Permit Application Paper Application

$60.00

Concealed Weapons Permit Renewal

- CCW Permit Renewal Application Online
- CCW Permit Renewal Application Paper Application

$43.00

Permit Card or Profile Change Request Form, use for the following: 

  • Replacement Permit Card Needed
  • Error on Permit Card
  • Lost or Stolen Permit Card
  • Change of Address or Telephone Number
  • I never received my Permit Card
  • Legal Name Change

- Permit Card or Profile Change Request Form Online
- Permit Card or Profile Change Request Form Paper Application

$10.00

LEOSA Certification

- LEOSA Application Online
- LEOSA Application Paper Application

$20.00

LEOSA Instructor Certification

- LEOSA Instructor Application Paper Application
- LEOSA Instructor Change Notice Paper Application

No Fee

CCW Self Surrender

- Self Surrender an Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit Paper Application

No Fee

 

 

NRA Memorandum - There are no online firearm training courses

 

April 10, 2014, LEOSA instructors please use the revised application form (under the "Forms" tab) for all LEOSA applicants. Instructors must indicate what type of Judgmental Assessment was utilized while conducting the training and whether the student passed or failed the assessment.

 

Attn: LEOSA FIREARMS INSTRUCTORS, 

Arizona POST has adopted a new handgun qualification course. The 50-Shot Semi-Automatic Qualification Course has been circulating as a draft since last year was approved on November 14, 2012 by the POST Board. 

 

This is the only authorized Semi-Auto Qualification Course for the Annual Firearms Qualifications as required per Rule 13-4-111C. 

The previous Firearms Qualification Course has been renamed with Board approval to the 50-Shot Revolver Qualification Course.

The courses along with the existing Low Light - Night Time Course can be viewed here.

 

All other previously approved courses that have been submitted by agencies as “alternate courses of fire” are no longer valid for the required annual qualifications.

Please share with your Training Staff and Firearms Instructors. 

 

FYI – AZ POST has changed some of the terminology on the new Semi-Auto Qualification Course and Definitions since they were posted last week. 

This was done to help answer some questions that we have been receiving from a number of Firearm Instructors. 

You can see the changes here.

 

 

About:


On July 22, 2004, the United States Senate passed H.R. 218, the “Law Enforcement Officers’ Safety Act” by unanimous consent and was subsequently signed by President George W. Bush. 

 

The bill exempts qualified active and retired law enforcement officers from select local and State prohibitions on the carrying of concealed firearms. It does not provide police officer liability protection, nor does it completely exempt active or retired officers from all state laws regarding carrying concealed firearms.

 

On August 12, 2005, Arizona HB 2450 took effect which allows the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit (CWPU) to issue a “Certificate of Firearms Proficiency” to qualified retired law enforcement officer applicants who are Arizona residents.

 

On October 12, 2010, President Barack H. Obama signed S. 1132, the “Law Enforcement Officers’ Safety Act,” into law. The Act, now Public Law 110-272, went into effect immediately.

 

he bill to improve the ability of retired officers to comply with the documents required by existing Federal law when carrying a firearm under 18 USC 926C and makes other modifications to existing law.

 

On July 3, 2015, Arizona HB 2300 took effect which designates a person who was a municipal, county or state prosecutor as a Peace Officer, and allows an National Rifle Association Certified Firearms Instructor to administer the Arizona Peace Officer Firearms Standard Course (R13-4-116(E)), pursuant to ARS 38-1113(G)(2). It also expands the meaning of a “qualified retired law enforcement officer” in ARS 13-3112(T)

 

 

Arizona – Certificate of Firearms Proficiency:


Retired officers must qualify with the type of firearm they wish to carry and pass a judgmental shooting evaluation. Applicants must qualify through an AZPOST certified firearms instructor approved by the CWPU. The instructor will provide the applicant with an application form once the qualification course has been completed. Active duty peace officers do not need this certificate; they may carry using their law enforcement credentials. 

 

The firearm qualification will consist of the standard AZPOST requirements (50 round course, ranges of 25, 15, 7 and 3 yards, minimum passing score is 210). The TQ 15, TQ 19 or TQ 21 targets may be used. 

 

Judgmental shooting evaluations can be accomplished by a variety of approved means to include the use of FATS/Range2000 units, “friend or foe” targets, video scenarios, etc. This portion of the qualification must follow AZ POST requirements.

 

 

Application and documentation for a Certificate of Firearms Proficiency:


Required application documents include: a completed LEOSA application signed by the instructor, a photocopy of the applicant's photographic identification credentials, a letter from the agency where the officer was employed and the appropriate fee. Fingerprint cards are not required as no background check is conducted.

 

 

The agency letter must be on agency letterhead and include the applicant’s name, employee or badge number, dates of employment, and employment status. The letter must also contain the name, identification number, and contact telephone number of an individual within the agency who can verify the information provided. Use the CWPU LEOSA form letter as all others will be rejected unless arrangements have been made with the CWPU.

 

If a certificate of firearms proficiency expires, the former certificate holder may obtain a new certificate by complying with all of the requirements in Arizona Administrative Rule R13-9-402.

 

Certificates are valid for one year, beginning from the date the qualification was completed. Certificates are not CCW permits; they are simply documentation that the training/qualification has been completed. The certificate must be carried along with the retired officer's credentials when carrying a concealed firearm. 

 

Nothing precludes individual law enforcement agencies from qualifying their own law enforcement officers and issuing their own certificate of firearms proficiency credentials.

 

To Obtain a Certificate of Firearms Proficiency (Separated/Retired Law Enforcement Only):

- Locate an Instructor who is authorized to conduct the LEOSA qualification and establish a qualification date.
- Complete the AZPOST firearms qualification course with the type of firearm you will carry (semi-auto, revolver, or both).
- Obtain the application from the instructor. Ensure they complete their portion and you fill out the rest.
- Submit the application packet, which includes: the completed application, a letter from your agency, a photocopy of your photographic identification credentials issued by your agency and the applicable fee in the form of a cashier’s or certified check or money order payable to AZ DPS; to the address listed on the application.

 

To Renew a Certificate of Firearms Proficiency:

- Locate an Instructor who is authorized to conduct the LEOSA qualification and establish a qualification date.
- Complete the AZPOST firearms qualification course with the type of firearm you will carry (semi-auto, revolver, or both).
- Obtain the application from the instructor. Ensure they complete their portion and you fill out the rest.
- Submit the application packet, which includes: the completed application and the applicable fee in the form of a cashier’s or certified check or money order payable to AZ DPS; to the address listed on the application.

 

Note: For renewal submissions, you do NOT need to submit the letter from your agency or the photocopy of your credentials,UNLESS your LEOSA certificate is expired.

Normally, you will receive your certificate within seven to ten business days. The LEOSA certificate is valid for one year from the date of qualification.

Note: If the LEOSA certificate of firearms proficiency is expired you may not carry concealed under the LEOSA provision.

 

 

Documents:


LEOSA Sample Letter

 

 

Eligibility:


Due to the language of the federal law, each state is required to follow state police officer firearm certification requirements. In this state, Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training (AZPOST) rules apply.

 

LEOSA Instructors must meet the following prerequisites:

- Be an active, retired or reserve Arizona Peace Officer Standards & Training certified firearms instructor, and
- Be approved by the AZ DPS CWPU.

Retired AZPOST certified peace officers must have been certified AZPOST firearms instructors prior to retirement.

To become a LEOSA Instructor you must submit a LEOSA Instructor application to the CWPU. The application can be found in the forms section.

Once authorized as a LEOSA instructor you will be provided with a unique LEOSA instructor identification number and informational materials. Normally, you will receive this information within seven to ten business days.

 

 

Questions:


Who is eligible to carry concealed firearms under this legislation?

Qualified law enforcement officers employed by or retired from a local, State or Federal law enforcement agency. As used in this section, the term “qualified retired law enforcement officer” means an individual who:

- separated from service in good standing with a public agency as a law enforcement officer; 
- before such separation, was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and had statutory powers of arrest; 
- before such separation, served as a law enforcement officer for an aggregate of 10 years or more; or 
- separated from service with such agency, after completing any applicable probationary period of such service, due to a service-connected disability, as determined by such agency;
- during the most recent 12-month period, has met, at the expense of the individual, the standards for qualification in firearms training for active law enforcement officers, as determined by the former agency of the individual, the State in which the individual resides or, of the State has not established such standards, either a law enforcement agency within the State in which the individual resides or the standards used by a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State; and
- has not been officially found by a qualified medical professional employed by the agency to be unqualified for reasons relating to mental health and as a result of this finding will not be issued the photographic identification as described in subsection (d)(1); or 
- has not entered into an agreement with the agency from which the individual is separating from service in which that individual acknowledges he or she is not qualified under this section for reasons relating to mental health and for those reasons will not receive or accept the photographic identification as described in subsection (d)(1); 
- is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and 
- is not prohibited by Federal law from receiving a firearm. 

 

Qualified retired law enforcement officers must carry the proper identification when carrying under the LEOSA provision. As used in this section, the identification required for qualified retired law enforcement officers is:

- a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated from service as a law enforcement officer that indicates that the individual has, not less recently than one year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the agency to meet the active duty standards for qualification in firearms training as established by the agency to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm; or
- a photographic identification issued by the agency from which the individual separated from service as a law enforcement officer; and
- a certification issued by the State in which the individual resides or by a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State that indicates that the individual has, not less than 1 year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the State or a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State to have met-
- the active duty standards for qualification in firearms training, as established by the State, to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm;

 

As used in this section, the term ‘firearm’

- except as provided in this subsection, has the same meaning as in section 921 of this title;
- includes ammunition not expressly prohibited by Federal law or subject to the provisions of the National Firearms Act; and
- does not include- 
- any machine gun (as defined in section 5845 of the National Firearms Act); 
- any firearm silencer (as defined in section 921 of this title); and 
- any destructive device (as defined in section 921 of this title).

 

 

I am a fully sworn law enforcement officer with statutory law enforcement authority, but I work for a private university or other non-governmental employer. Will I be able to carry under the provisions of H.R. 218?

No. You must be an employee of a local, State or Federal governmental agency to carry a firearm under the provisions of this legislation.

 

My agency has a policy that does not allow me to carry my firearm while I am off-duty. Does this mean that this legislation will not benefit me?

If you are a qualified active law enforcement officer, you will legally be able to carry a firearm under the provisions of H.R. 218. There may be agencies which enforce or adopt policies, rules, regulations, or employment conditions which discourage or punish officers which choose to carry while off-duty, but such actions do not mean that the officer cannot carry under the provisions of the bill.

 

I am a retired officer - How do I qualify to carry under the provisions of this bill?

The legislation requires retired law enforcement officers to meet the active duty standards for qualification with a firearm in the State where they reside. Retired officers must qualify at their own expense through an authorized Arizona LEOSA Instructor and, once they do, submit an application, documentation and fee to the CWPU. Once approved, the CWPU will issue a certificate of firearm proficiency and the retiree will be able to carry the type of firearm (semi-auto, revolver or both) with which they have been qualified under the provisions of H.R. 218. Retired officers must carry this certificate in addition to the photographic identification issued by their former law enforcement agency.

 

Does H.R. 218 preempt state and local laws regarding firearms?

Yes, H.R. 218 specifies two exceptions:

This section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that—

      1) permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on their property; or

      2) prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, installation, building, base, or park. 

This means private persons or businesses may post signs on their property indicating ”no firearms or weapons” are permitted and no one other than active duty law enforcement officers may bring a firearm onto the premises. Additionally, state or local governments may prohibit firearms on government property in a similar manner.

 

Can a person carrying pursuant to LEOSA carry a concealed firearm into a place that serves alcohol for consumption on the premises?

If the business is posted “No Firearms or Weapons” (or something similar), the person may NOT enter with a firearm (see question 6 above). If the business is not posted, a person carrying under LEOSA may enter with the firearm, however, the person is prohibited from consuming alcohol. How this law applies to active law enforcement officers will vary from state to state; contact that state for details. In Arizona, active peace officers may carry in on-sale liquor establishments.

 

I am not a resident of Arizona, but my home state will not issue a certificate of proficiency. Can I use an Arizona certificate of proficiency in my home state or elsewhere under LEOSA?

No. Federal law specifically states the certification must be issued by the state of residence in order for it to be valid. LEOSA certificates of proficiency issued by AZ DPS are only valid if issued to an Arizona resident who is also a qualified retired officer. Note: It does not matter what agency the officer retired from (Arizona or out of state).

 

Example 1:An officer retires from the Dallas PD, moves to Arizona, completes the LEOSA qualification and obtains the AZ DPS LEOSA certificate - this officer is qualified under LEOSA.

 

Example 2:An officer retires from Chicago PD and lives in Chicago. Because the officer can't find any law enforcement agency in Illinois who is conducting LEOSA qualification, this officer travels to Arizona and completes the LEOSA qualification and obtains the AZ DPS LEOSA certificate - this officer is NOT qualified under LEOSA and is at risk of being arrested if carrying a concealed handgun.

 

Does this bill allow me to carry a firearm on an airplane?

No. This legislation exempts qualified active and retired law enforcement officers from most state and local laws regarding the carrying of concealed firearms. The carriage of firearms on an aircraft is regulated by federal statutes and airline policy.

 

 

 

 


These numbers reflect all transactions and the current status of permits since the inception of the CCW program in Arizona on September 8, 1994. Please note, these numbers do not reflect changes, such as a permit that was suspended and later reinstated.

Chart last updated: 10/02/2022

 

  Active Suspended Revoked
Permits 452024 5456 1298

 

Permits 19-20 21-29 30-39 40-49 50-59 60-69 70-79 80+
ASIAN 0 193 571 776 778 444 140 20
Black 0 342 967 1221 1104 593 194 20
Indian 0 95 310 312 350 277 128 24
Unknown 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0
White 1 4973 11767 15200 22943 27500 17524 3107
Female Total 1 5603 13615 17509 25176 28814 17987 3171

 

Permits 19-20 21-29 30-39 40-49 50-59 60-69 70-79 80+
Asian 1 929 2491 3287 2929 1655 629 128
Black 2 1297 2962 3262 3339 2248 1084 224
Indian 0 294 668 667 671 635 424 133
Unknown 0 1 1 3 1 2 1 2
White 24 16560 36072 45721 61155 72300 64506 20591
Male Total 27 19081 42194 52940 68095 76840 66644 21078

 

County Permits
Apache 1708
Cochise 8348
Coconino 5738
Gila 3686
Graham 1152
Greenlee 295
Maricopa 159142
Mohave 23841
Navajo 4397
Pima 36125
Pinal 18918
Santa Cruz 1194
Yavapai 20465
Yuma 7186
La Paz 1588

 

 

 

Permit Questions: 10/02/2022

Frequently Asked Questions:


I am considering obtaining an Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit. What do I do?

Review the Arizona concealed carry law, ARS 13-3112 and Arizona Administrative Rules R13-9-101 through R13-9-603. We recommend you also review ARS 13-3101 and Title 18 USC section 922(d & g) for complete eligibility criteria and ARS 13-3102, Misconduct Involving Weapons.

 

How do I apply for an Arizona CCW Permit?

The new permit application and instructions are available under the Forms Tab.

 

Do I have to provide my Social Security number for my CCW Permit?

No, social security numbers are optional on the CCW applications. However, in many instances name similarities may slow the criminal history clearing process. Providing a social security number will speed up the issuance of a permit in these instances.

 

May I bring my application to the department?

Yes. You may drop off your application packet at the DPS Public Service Center building located at 2222 W. Encanto Blvd in Phoenix between the hours of 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

 

Where can I get my fingerprints taken?

Please contact your local law enforcement agency or a private vendor about available fingerprint services. DPS does not provide applicant fingerprint services, but you can click here for more information on third party fingerprint services.

 

How do I know if I meet the eligibility requirements?

The eligibility requirements are clearly listed in ARS 13-3112. In addition to those requirements, an individual must not be a prohibited possessor as described in ARS 13-3101 and Title 18 USC section 922(d) and (g).

 

What are permit holder requirements?

Please see below for permit holder requirements:

- A qualified person must have the permit in possession when carrying a concealed weapon and is required by any other law to carry the permit

- The permit must be presented to any law enforcement officer, upon request, along with a driver’s license, military ID, state ID card or passport

- A law enforcement officer may temporarily take possession of a firearm during traffic stops or other official contacts with the public

 

Can I be pre-approved before I pay for the course and the application fee?

No. The resources of the CWPU may not be lawfully used to determine eligibility until receipt of the completed application (and any required documents) and fee.

 

My application for a permit was not approved because of a felony arrest many years ago. The prosecutor dropped the charges and I was never prosecuted. What do I do now?

You must contact the respective prosecutor's office or involved court that handled the case and obtain documentation. Court documents must specifically state you were not charged with and/or have no record of a felony conviction in regard to that specific charge and you are not currently under felony indictment in that jurisdiction.

- Submit that documentation to the CWPU within the time limit given on the denial letter.

- You may also request a review and challenge of your criminal history through that states Criminal History Records Section.

 

Can I pay my application fee with a personal check?

No. Acceptable forms of payment include money order, certified or cashier's check made payable to AZ DPS.

 

May multiple applications be submitted using one form of payment?

This practice is discouraged. If there is an issue with one application, then all applications must be returned.

- To avoid any unnecessary delays, it is prefer each application be submitted with its own form of payment.

 

Is the application fee to DPS refundable if I do not qualify for a CCW Permit?

No. There are no refunds for the CCW Permit if you do not qualify.

 

 

CCW Permit Card Questions:


My permit has an error on it; How should I report this?

Look under the Forms section on this webpage. You will find a printable document titled Change Name / Address / Lost / Stolen / Damaged / Non-receipt of Permit / Error on Permit. Print the form; complete the appropriate section(s). Mail the form and required fee to the permit unit. The address is listed on the form. A replacement permit will be generated and mailed to you.

 

My permit has been lost or stolen; How do I get a replacement?

Look under the Forms section on this webpage. You will find a printable document titled Change Name/Address/Lost/Stolen/Damaged/Non-receipt of Permit/Error on Permit. Print the form; complete the appropriate section(s). Mail the form and required fee to the permit unit. The address is listed on the form. A replacement permit, with a new permit number, will be generated and mailed to you.

 

My address and/or phone number has changed; How do I report this?

Look under the Forms section on this webpage. You will find a printable document titled Change Name / Address / Lost / Stolen / Damaged / Non-receipt of Permit / Error on Permit. Print the form; complete the appropriate section(s). Mail the form to the address is listed on the form. Your information will be changed in our database.

 

I did not receive my permit; How do I report this?

Look under the Forms section on this webpage. You will find a printable document titled Change Name / Address / Lost / Stolen / Damaged / Non-receipt of Permit / Error on Permit. Print the form; complete the appropriate section(s). Mail the form to the address is listed on the form. A replacement permit, with a new permit number, will be generated and mailed to you.

 

I have legally changed my name; How do I get a new permit?

Look under the Forms section on this webpage. You will find a printable document titled Change Name / Address / Lost / Stolen / Damaged / Non-receipt of Permit / Error on Permit. Print the form; complete the appropriate section(s). Mail the form, a copy of the document demonstrating you legally changed your name, and the required fee to the address is listed on the form. A new permit will be generated and mailed to you.

 

Can my spouse/family member/friend inquire into the status of my permit?

No. Unfortunately not, as per ARS 13-3112(J).

 

 

CCW Carrying Questions:


Can I carry a firearm into an establishment that serves alcoholic drinks for consumption on the premises if I have my CCW Permit?

Yes, unless the establishment has posted signs prohibiting weapons (A.R.S. 4-229). You may not consume alcohol while in possession of your firearm (A.R.S. 4-244). There are some additional exceptions see A.R.S. 13-3102.

 

Can I carry a firearm while wearing a face covering?

Arizona law does not prohibit a person from carrying a firearm and wearing a face covering. If a person commits a crime while armed and their face is covered, this can be an aggravating factor in the criminal charge per ARS 13-701(D)(26).

 

I heard that once you obtain an Arizona CCW permit, you have to carry concealed all of the time (if armed) and are forbidden to carry open; Is this true?

No, while in Arizona you may carry open or concealed. Check other states you may visit for their requirements.

 

I entered a private business with my concealed handgun and CCW Permit. The business did not have any signs posted prohibiting weapons. Shortly thereafter, an employee approach me and said they do not allow firearms in their business and I must take the gun off the premises; Can they do that?

Yes. Arizona law permits private business owners (or their designates) to prohibit weapons from being brought onto their property, whether signs are posted or not. Private businesses are typically non-government operated businesses such as grocery and department stores, convenience stores, laundromats, banks, office complexes, etc. Failure to obey the request can result in your arrest for trespassing (ARS 13-1502/ARS 13-1503).

 

Are there any firearm restrictions?

Please see below for firearm restrictions:

- Businesses serving alcohol for consumption on the premises (exceptions for peace officers and CCW Permittees, see A.R.S. 4-229, A.R.S. 4-244, A.R.S. 13-3102)

- Polling places on election days (peace officers are excepted)

- School grounds (some exceptions – see below) (peace officers are excepted)

- Commercial nuclear hydroelectric generating stations (peace officers are excepted)

- Military installations (peace officers are limited)

- Indian reservations (check w/tribe, peace officers are limited)

- Game preserves (peace officers are limited)

- National parks (peace officers are limited) more information available at www.doi.gov(link is external) or contact the park service regarding pending federal legislation.

- Correctional facilities

- Federal buildings (peace officers are limited)

- Airports (in or beyond security checkpoints) (peace officers are limited)

- Where federal, state or local laws prohibit weapons (peace officers are limited)

-State or local government/private establishments or events when asked by the operator/sponsor/agent. Most government facilities will provide a location to temporarily store a firearm. Persons who refuse to leave and/or secure their weapon are trespassing and can be cited or arrested for ARS 13-1502 or ARS 13-1503, depending on the venue (peace officers are excepted)

 

I have a CCW Permit; Can I carry my handgun on school grounds while picking up my child?

Conditionally. If you remain in your vehicle and the handgun is unloaded before entering school grounds, yes. If you have to exit your vehicle while picking up your child, the handgun must be unloaded (as above) and secured (locked) within the vehicle out of plain view. Use caution if you must exit the vehicle with a handgun (or any weapon) to secure it in the trunk of your vehicle. Others may see you and not understand your intention.

 

Additionally, designated employees of a school may order a person off of school property if that person is believed to be interfering with school operations. School boards may also enact specific and more restrictive rules governing firearms and deadly weapons on school grounds. Determine what the rules of a school are before attempting to enter school grounds with a firearm. (ARS 13-3102.A.12, 13-3102.I and ARS 13-2911)

 

What are the school exceptions when carrying concealed weapons?

Please see below for school exceptions (concealed or not):

- You are an adult in a vehicle and the firearm is unloaded before entering school grounds. Furthermore, if you must exit your vehicle, the firearm must remain unloaded and be secured (locked) within the vehicle, out of plain view. Use caution and common sense if you must exit the vehicle with a firearm to secure it in the trunk (avoid causing a potentially serious disturbance)

- You are an adult attending a firearms related class (hunter/safety) or participating in a school program that requires you to bring or possess a firearm and the training or event was scheduled and approved by school administrators. This exception also applies to a juvenile accompanied by a parent, grandparent, legal guardian or a certified hunter/firearms safety officer acting with the permission of a parent or guardian. The firearm will be unloaded before entering school grounds and should be placed in a case to avoid causing a potentially serious disturbance

- Additionally, designated employees of a school may order a person off of school property if that person is believed to be interfering with school operations. School boards may also enact specific and more restrictive rules governing firearms and deadly weapons on school grounds (ARS 13-2911).

 

What are the rules about carrying in states outside of Arizona?

It is extremely important that all Arizona Permit holders be aware of the CCW requirements and laws of all reciprocating/recognizing states. An Arizona CCW permit does not supersede any other state's law or CCW requirements. Persons carrying an Arizona permit are subject to the laws of the state they are visiting.

 

If you are an Arizona permit holder traveling to another state and wish to carry a concealed weapon using your Arizona permit, contact that state directly to confirm their recognition status before carrying concealed weapons there.

 

Some states only recognize permits from persons who are a resident of the issuing state.

 

Some states have an active CCW reciprocal agreement on file with the State of Arizona. This means your Arizona permit allows you to carry concealed under their respective state statute, and Arizona will reciprocate by recognizing CCW permits issued by these states, regardless of whether they are "Resident" or "Non-Resident," if so marked. Please click here for additional information.

 

I am moving to Arizona; Is my concealed weapon permit from my former state of residence transferable?

No, however you may be able to use it as proof of firearms competence when applying for an Arizona permit. Contact the permit unit for additional information.

 

I’ve moved to Arizona and have a CCW from my prior state of residence; How long before I have to get an Arizona CCW to carry legally in Arizona?

You may carry concealed utilizing another state's permit as long as that permit is valid and in good standing. Once expired you may wish to obtain an Arizona CCW Permit. See additional information under the Reciprocity tab on this web site.

 

Can non-residents be issued an Arizona permit?

Yes, provided the applicant is a U.S. citizen. 

 

 

Obtaining a Permit:


 

General Eligibility

Applicants must:

- Be a resident of this state or a United States citizen;

- be twenty-one years of age or older or is at least nineteen years of age and provides evidence of current military service or proof of honorable discharge or general discharge;under honorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces, United States Armed Forces Reserve or a State National Guard.

- not be under indictment for a felony offense;

- not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or the individuals right to possess firearms has be restored AND the individual must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.

- not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;

- not be unlawfully present in the United States;

- complete a firearms safety training program pursuant to A.R.S. 13-3112.N.

 

Note: Persons who were born outside of the United States or one of its territories must send a copy of proof of citizenship or alien status. Any of the following documents are acceptable:

- Certificate of Naturalization
- Resident Alien Card
- Record of Birth Abroad to US citizens
- Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
- US Passport

 

Applications with errors or containing incomplete information will be returned for correction.

 

Allow 75 days for the Department to process your application. If you have not received your permit or notification from the department regarding your application after 75 days please contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.

 

Once you have received your permit, inspect it for errors. If you find an error, return the permit along with a completed copy of the CWPU "Error on Permit Form" available under printable forms on this website.

 

Note: All changes of address and phone numbers must be reported in writing to the CWPU within 10 days of the change. Utilize the "Change Form" available under printable forms on this website.

 

 

State Prohibitors:


A.R.S. 13-3101

7.  "Prohibited possessor" means any person:

(a) Who has been found to constitute a danger to self or to others or to have a persistent or acute disability or grave disability pursuant to court order under section 36-540, and whose right to possess a firearm has not been restored pursuant to section 13-925.
(b) Who has been convicted within or without this state of a felony or who has been adjudicated delinquent for a felony and whose civil right to possess or carry a firearm has not been restored.
(c) Who is at the time of possession serving a term of imprisonment in any correctional facility or detention facility.
(d) Who is at the time of possession serving a term of probation pursuant to a conviction for a domestic violence offense as defined in section 13-3601 or a felony offense, parole, community supervision, work furlough, home arrest or release on any other basis or who is serving a term of probation or parole pursuant to the interstate compact under title 31, chapter 3, article 4.1.
(e) Who is an undocumented alien or a nonimmigrant alien traveling with or without documentation in this state for business or pleasure or who is studying in this state and who maintains a foreign residence abroad. This subdivision does not apply to:

i) Nonimmigrant aliens who possess a valid hunting license or permit that is lawfully issued by a state in the United States.
(ii) Nonimmigrant aliens who enter the United States to participate in a competitive target shooting event or to display firearms at a sports or hunting trade show that is sponsored by a national, state or local firearms trade organization devoted to the competitive use or other sporting use of firearms.
(iii) Certain diplomats.
(iv) Officials of foreign governments or distinguished foreign visitors who are designated by the United States department of state.
(v) Persons who have received a waiver from the United States attorney general.

(f) Who has been found incompetent pursuant to rule 11, Arizona rules of criminal procedure, and who subsequently has not been found competent.
(g) Who is found guilty except insane. 

 

 

Federal Prohibitors


United States Code, Title 18, Section 922(g) states “it shall be unlawful for any person to ship or transport in interstate or foreign commerce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any firearm or ammunition; or to receive any firearm or ammunition which has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce”–

- is under indictment for, or has been convicted in any court of, a  crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year: 
- is a fugitive of justice; 
- is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substance Act (21 United States Code 802) 
- has been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to any mental institution;
- who, being an alien-

- was issued after a hearing of which such person received actual notice, and at which such person had the opportunity to participate; and
- expected to cause bodily injury;
- includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child; or
- by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury

- has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

 

Initial and renewal concealed weapons permit applications are processed by Department of Public Safety Criminal Records Specialists. The application data is entered into our CCW database. Background criminal history checks are performed utilizing several systems:

- Arizona Criminal Justice Information System (ACJIS)
- National Crime Information Center (NCIC)
- Arizona Crime information Center (ACIC)
- National Instant Background Check System (NICS)
- Interstate Identification Index (III)
- Automatic Fingerprint Information System (AFIS)
- Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI)

 

It is the Departments policy to deny a concealed weapons permit to any applicant who is considered prohibited possessors in accordance with U.S. Federal 18 U.S.C. § 922 and Arizona State ARS 13-3112ARS §13-3101(7)

Applicants must complete a firearms safety training program as prescribed by ARS §13-3112(N) and demonstrate competence by providing adequate documentation of completion as prescribed by ARS §13-3112(E).

 

Concealed weapons permits may be renewed every five years. See renewal procedure.

 

 

Applicant Instructions


- Determine whether you meet the qualifications to obtain a concealed weapons permit.
- Review the provisions contained in Arizona Revised Statute Title 13, chapters 4 and 31 which are available on the Arizona State Legislature website.

 

 

Expired Permit


 

If an expired permit issued by the Department' is presented as proof that the individual has demonstrated competence with a firearm, the 'permit' they are presenting must be in good standing to be eligible as proof. Revoked permits will not be considered. 

The applicant must:

- complete and submit an original Concealed Weapons Permit application
- submit two sets of classifiable fingerprints utilizing CWPU approved applicant fingerprint cards
- submit your expired Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit card
- submit the applicable fee required to obtain a new permit

Applicants may request the new permit application and applicant fingerprint cards by contacting Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.

 

This will NOT be considered a "renewal" process. The applicant must submit the fee required to obtain a new permit. Fees are non-refundable.

Links


Arizona Administrative Rules: Concealed Weapons Permits

- ​Administrative Rules

Arizona Revised Statutes

A.R.S. 13-3112 Concealed weapons; qualification; application; permit to carry; certificate of firearms proficiency; training program; program instructors; report; applicability; violation; classification
- A.R.S. 13-3102 Misconduct involving weapons; defenses; classification; definitions

Arizona Revised Statutes (complete statutes relating to concealed weapons)

- Arizona Revised Statutes Title 13 (Criminal Code), Chapter 31 (Weapons and Explosives)
- Arizona Revised Statutes Title 4 (Alcoholic Beverages), Chapter 2 (Regulations and Prohibitions)

Federal Resources

- Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
- Federal Firearms Regulation

LEOSA Annual Qualifications Courses

- ​Revolver Course
- Semi-Auto Course

 

 

Reciprocity and Recognition Agreements


Arizona recognizes all other states valid permits providing the following conditions are met:

 

Arizona and any political subdivisions of Arizona shall recognize a concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state if both:

- The permit or license is recognized as valid in the issuing state

- The permit or license holder is all of the following:

​Legally present in this state

- Not legally prohibited from possessing a firearm in this state

 

For the purpose of establishing mutual permit or license recognition with other states, the Arizona Department of Public Safety shall enter into a written agreement if another state requires a written agreement.

 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a person with a concealed weapons permit from another state may not carry a concealed weapon in this state if the person is under twenty-one years of age or is under indictment for, or has been convicted of, a felony offense in any jurisdiction, unless the person's rights have been restored or the conviction is expunged, set-aside or vacated and the applicant is currently not a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.

 

Reciprocity (Carrying in other states outside of Arizona)

 

Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit holders wishing to carry utilizing their permit while visiting another state are responsible for contacting that state to ensure reciprocity.

 

Reciprocal Agreements - Concealed Weapon Permits - As of July 15, 2020
  Written Agreement with Arizona Recognizes Arizona Without Written Agreement Does NOT Recognize Arizona Permits
Alabama - Check Mark -
Alaska Check Mark - -
Arkansas Check Mark - -
California - - Check Mark
Colorado - Check Mark -
Connecticut - - Check Mark
Delaware - Check Mark -
Florida - Check Mark -
Georgia - Check Mark -
Hawaii - - Check Mark
Idaho Check Mark - -
Illinois - - Check Mark
Indiana - Check Mark -
Iowa - Check Mark -
Kansas - Check Mark -
Kentucky - Check Mark -
Louisiana - Check Mark -
Maine - Check Mark -
Maryland - - Check Mark
Massachusetts - - Check Mark
Michigan - Check Mark -
Minnesota - - Check Mark
Mississippi - Check Mark -
Missouri - Check Mark -
Montana - Check Mark -
Nebraska - Check Mark -
Nevada - Check Mark -
New Hampshire - Check Mark -
New Jersey - - Check Mark
New Mexico - Check Mark -
New York - - Check Mark
North Carolina - Check Mark -
North Dakota - Check Mark -
Ohio Check Mark - -
Oklahoma - Check Mark -
Oregon - - Check Mark
Pennsylvania Check Mark - -
Rhode Island - - Check Mark
South Carolina - Check Mark -
South Dakota Check Mark - -
Tennessee - Check Mark -
Texas Check Mark - -
Utah - Check Mark -
Vermont - - Check Mark
Virginia - Check Mark -
Washington - - Check Mark
West Virginia Check Mark - -
Wisconsin - Check Mark -
Wyoming - Check Mark -

 

Warning: It is extremely important that all Arizona Permit holders be aware of the CCW requirements and laws of all reciprocating/recognizing states. An Arizona CCW permit does not supersede any other state's law or CCW requirements. Persons carrying an Arizona permit are subject to the laws of the state they are visiting.

 

If you are an Arizona permit holder traveling to another state and wish to carry a concealed weapon using your Arizona permit, contact that state directly to confirm their recognition status before carrying concealed weapons there.

 

Some states only recognize permits from persons who are a resident of the issuing state.

 

 

Instructor Information


Effective August 3, 2020, the permit unit will no longer provide instructor supplies. The new permit application and instructions are available under the Forms tab on this webpage. It will be the instructor's responsibility to supply their own fingerprint cards for students or refer their students to fingerprinting services who provide fingerprint cards.

 

Amendments to A.R.S. 13-3112 in 2010 added a number of new ways in which an applicant could qualify for a concealed weapons permit through training or experience. These new additions removed the statutory minimum requirements which the Unit used to evaluate and approve training programs. Since there are no statutorily defined minimum requirements, the ability of DPS to evaluate, approve and support training programs has been greatly diminished. For this reason, after July 20, 2011, the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit will no longer update, support or sanction the use of the proprietary firearms-safety training course previously used to train permit holders. Furthermore, DPS will no longer review or approve any lesson plans and will no longer publish or update the “Legal Issues Relating to the Use of Deadly Force” guideline.

 

Additionally, since changes to A.R.S. 13-3112 made in the 2011 legislative session removed the authority for DPS to approve or authorize instructors and organizations, DPS will discontinue this practice. However, for those that currently hold an approval or authorization, current rules will still govern those approvals or authorizations until expiration pursuant to A.A.C. R13-9-309, which provides that a firearms-safety instructor approval is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance or renewal and the authorization of an instructor who holds a valid concealed weapon permit will expire when his current permit expires.

 

Going forward, liability for use of previously approved training programs rests solely on the instructor and or organization.

 

 

Individuals who are no longer interested in maintaining an Arizona permit may surrender their permit.

Once a permit is surrendered, it may not be reinstated. If, after surrendering a permit, you wish to obtain an Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit, you will be required to apply for a new permit.

1. Complete the CWP Self-Surrender form which can be located on this web page below.
2.Attach the permit card to the form in the designated area.
3. Mail the completed form, and permit card, to the address listed on the form.

CWP Self-Surrender Form