DPS has records for accidents that were investigated by a DPS Trooper and that occurred on an Arizona state highway. If the report you are requesting was the result of an accident that occurred on a city or county road, contact the law enforcement agency that investigated the accident.
DPS Troopers have 14 days to complete and submit reports to the Department Records Section. Please wait at least that long to check on report availability from the Department Records Section at (602) 223-2230/2236.
- ARS 28-667 - Written accident report; definition
SUMMARY OF ARS § 28-667:
Arizona Revised Statute §28-667 prohibits examining or receiving copies of accident reports for commercial solicitation. "Commercial solicitation means a request for an accident report at a time when there is no relationship between the person or the principle of the person requesting the accident report and any party involved in the accident and there is not reason for the person to request the report other than for the purposes of soliciting a business or commercial relationship."
Photographs from Accidents
Any photographs taken at the scene of an accident can be ordered at the Department Records Section.
Photo contact sheets are available for $10.00, 8x10 photos are $4.00 each and, if available CDs and DVDs are $15.00. Requests (with appropriate fee) will be taken by the Department Records Section and the photographs will be mailed directly to you from the Photo Lab.
Requesting Accident Reports and/or Photographs
To receive a copy of a DPS accident report and/or photographs from an accident, follow the instructions below and complete the provided form on the link at the bottom of the page. Please read all the instructions carefully before submitting the form.
Note: Please do not contact the DPS Public Records Unit regarding accident reports, photographs from an accident or other Department Records Unit related material. The Public Records Unit may be contacted via the website or at (602) 223-2345.
A request may be sent without completing the form, as long as the written request includes the driver's name, date-of-birth, date and time the accident occurred, the highway where the accident occurred, and the report number (if known). The report number should be on the upper right corner of the Driver Exchange Form given to you by the DPS trooper at the accident scene.
Copies of accident reports by mail must be accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope and the appropriate fee. The fee for an accident report is as follows:
- Paper report via U.S. Mail - $9.00 for the first nine pages; $0.10 for each additional page
- Report via email - $9.00 (up to 5 MB)
- Paper report via fax - $9.00 (20 page limit)
- Report on a compact disc (CD) - $10.00 (up to 700 MB)
Requests for photos (with appropriate fee) will be taken by the Department Records Section and the photographs will be mailed directly to you from the Photo Lab. The costs are as follows:
- Printed Photo (each 8x10) - $4.00
- Photo Contact Sheets - $10.00
- Photographs on Single CD or DVD - $15.00
Only business checks, cashier’s checks or money orders will be accepted for mail-in requests and should be made out to: Arizona Department of Public Safety. No cash or personal checks are accepted by mail. Cash, business checks or money orders are accepted for in-person requests. Sorry, no credit or debit cards are accepted at this time.
Completed forms may be sent to:
Department Records Section
P.O. Box 6638
Mail Drop 3111
Phoenix, AZ 85005
The physical address for the Department Records Unit is
The AZDPS Public Service Center
2222 W. Encanto Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Copies of accident reports can be obtained in person at the above address. The PSC is open from 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, and is closed on all state holidays.
Citations, Warnings and/or Repair Orders
The Department Records Section does not maintain copies of DPS-issued citations, warnings and/or repair orders. Copies of citations issued by DPS are forwarded to the court having jurisdiction in the area the citation was issued, and to the Motor Vehicle Division, Arizona Department of Transportation.
Individuals who have completed repairs on vehicle equipment repair orders issued to them by a DPS officer can forward them to:
Arizona Department of Public Safety
Attn: Vehicle Equipment Repair
P. O. Box 18470
Phoenix, AZ 85005-8470
Department Offense Reports
Offense reports may be requested by governmental agencies for criminal justice purposes. The agency must qualify as a criminal justice agency as defined by state law (Arizona Revised Statute 41-1750) to receive the complete report. Requests must be received by mail, fax (602) 223-2915, or in person.
Requests from all others who are not criminal justice agencies are referred to the DPS Public Records Unit. The Public Records Unit reviews each request, and may redact certain information from the offense report when it is released due to privacy or security issues. Criminal history or personal descriptive information such as name, social security numbers, and addresses are examples of information that may be redacted from the report. The Public Records Unit may be contacted via the website or at (602) 223-2345.
- Paper Report via U.S. Mail - $9.00 for the first nine pages; $0.10 for each additional page
- Report via email - $9.00 (5 MB)
- Report via fax - $9.00 (20 page limit)
- Report on compact disc (CD) - $10.00 (700 MB)
- Printed photo (each 8x10) - $4.00
- Photo Contact Sheets - $10.00
- Photographs on a single CD or DVD $15.00