Arizona State Legislature -

Arizona Capital RoofThe Arizona State Legislature is the state legislature for Arizona.  It is a bicameral legislature that consists of a lower house, the House of Representatives, and an upper house, the Senate.  The Arizona State Legislature has 30 members in the Senate and 60 members in the House of Representatives.  One Senator and two House members serve each district.  One of the primary responsibilities of the legislature is to make and amend laws.  In doing so, the Arizona State Legislature also determines the budgets of state agencies along with the scope of state agency responsibilities.  As a result, DPS relies greatly upon support from the Arizona State Legislature.  In fact, no other entity plays a bigger role in determining the laws DPS must enforce or the resources available to the agency.

Related Links