AZ DPS

Questions

Below is a detailed list of frequently asked questions pertaining to becoming an Officer with the Arizona Department of Public Safety.  Please click on any question for an answer.

 

 

 

What are the minimum qualifications to be an Officer with the Arizona Department of Public Safety?
Must possess a valid drivers license (ALL NEWLY HIRED OFFICERS/CADETS MUST POSSESS A VALID STATE OF ARIZONA DRIVERS LICENSE BEFORE STARTING THEIR RESPECTIVE TRAINING).

  • Must be 21 years of age prior to graduation from the academy.
  • Must be a U.S. citizen.
  • Be a high school graduate, or have completed a G.E.D.
  • No felony convictions.

What are things that can disqualify me from the selection process?

  1. DRUG USAGE
    • MARIJUANA: Illegal use of marijuana more than 20 times total or more than five (5) times since the age of 21, or at any time within the past three (3) years.
    • DANGEROUS DRUGS/NARCOTICS/VAPOROUS SUBSTANCES: Illegal use of dangerous drugs, narcotics, or vaporous substances more than five (5) times total or more than one (1) time since the age of 21, or at any time within the past seven (7) years.

      Dangerous drugs and/or narcotics include hashish, cocaine/crack, amphetamines/barbiturates, anabolic steroids, LSD/acid, PCP/angel dust, magic mushrooms, etc.
    • PEYOTE/MESCALINE: Illegal use of peyote or mescaline as described in Section I.B. above. (Exception: The use of peyote/mescaline is permitted if for bona fide religious ceremonies.)
    • HEROIN: Use of heroin at anytime.
    • SALE, PRODUCTION, CULTIVATION, OR TRANSPORTATION FOR SALE OF ILLEGAL DRUGS.
    • PATTERN OF ABUSE OF PRESCRIPTION DRUGS.

  2. THEFT OR MISAPPROPRIATION OF PROPERTY:
    • Any demonstrated pattern of habitual theft.
    • Any theft while serving in a position of trust.

  3. ACTS CONSTITUTING A FELONY:
    • The conviction of any act which would constitute a felony in the state of Arizona, regardless of the time element.
    • The conviction of any act of domestic violence.

  4. FRAUD OR MISREPRESENTATION:
    • Any intentional attempt to practice any deception or fraud in:
      • The employment application.
      • The various testing processes.
    • Failure to properly complete the application.

  5. DRIVING RECORD:
    • More than one serious traffic violation (D.U.I., reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident) within the last 5 years.
    • Any serious traffic violation (D.U.I., reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident) within the past 3 years.
    • Any recent demonstrated pattern of excessive traffic violations (for positions that require operation of a motor vehicle).

  6. CREDIT
    • Any demonstrated pattern of indebtedness over an extended period, which has resulted in repossessions or foreclosures or submission of bills to a collection agency (for position of Officer).

What is the AZ POST?
The Board was originally created to address the need for uniform peace officer selection, recruitment, retention and training standards, and to provide curriculum and standards for all certified law enforcement training facilities. The Board was also vested with the responsibility of administering the Peace Officer Training Fund.

Please visit their website at www.azpost.gov for more information.  You may also visit www.aleaonline.org for additional information.

Is there an age limit?
There is no maximum age limit. Candidate must be at least 21 years of age prior to graduation from the basic academy.

I have bad credit, I am in collections or I have had a bankruptcy, will this disqualify me?
Possibly. It depends on the situation and what are you doing now to correct the matter. It is highly recommended that any past due accounts be made current before you apply. The credit report is just one part of the overall background.

I have been arrested before, will this disqualify me from the process?
Possibly. It depends on the facts, circumstances, and time frame.

Must I complete an application in order to test?
Yes. An online application needs to be received by Human Resources within the specified application period. Once the application is received, an invitation letter will be sent after the application has been screened to ensure the applicant has met the selection guidelines.

What is a Cadet Officer?
The Cadet Officer is a civilian employee, with no police powers, who participates in an academy training program to learn the general duties of police work. Upon graduation from the academy, the Cadet Officer is promoted to Officer and attends the DPS Advanced Basic Training, which includes training on Department policies, practices and standards.

What is a an Officer?
An Officer is a fully certified law enforcement officer who, under supervision, patrols highways, towns, cities and communities, enforces laws and ordinances, deters crime, investigates collisions, assists other law enforcement agencies, interacts with many varied statewide communities and performs other related duties. DPS Officers are assigned to locations throughout Arizona.

One of the many benefits of working for the Department of Public Safety is the amount of decision making empowerment, discretion and authority that is bestowed upon its' Officers and Detectives. Our Officers and Detectives regularly make decisions and judgments, often by themselves and with minimal need for direction or supervision. The Department holds its' employees to very high standards and expectations. The ability to make correct and sound decisions, within the parameters of laws, policies and procedures, is very critical to the success of the Department and the safety of the public we are charged with protecting.

What is the selection process for a Cadet Officer?
The selection process is set-up in two phases. The first phase consists of a physical fitness (PT) test, written test and a Qualifications Appraisal Board [QAB] examination.

*Applicants must pass each step in the process to move forward. If any applicant fails any portion of phase one, they must restart at the very beginning of phase one. There will be no re-do's of individual components of phase one, they all must be passed in succession.*

Upon successful completion of phase one, applicants are placed on an eligibility list and are scheduled for phase two testing which consists of a polygraph, medical and psychological examinations and finally an exhaustive background investigation.

It is very important for those individuals who successfully pass phase one to have their schedule of availability for the next three to four weeks after the QAB with them as to best expedite their scheduling for phase two. Phase two consists of the background investigation, polygraph, medical and psychological examinations.

What is the selection process for in-state (Arizona Post Certified Officers) laterals?
In-state lateral officers are not required to complete the written portion of the selection process. However, they are required to successfully pass all other elements of the selection process.

What are the requirements to be processed as an in-state lateral officer?
The applicant must be an AZ POST certified officer who has served at least one year (not including academy time) in a permanent enforcement position and have completed their initial probationary period, whichever is greater (graduates of the Arizona Law Enforcement Academy [ALEA] are exempt from the one year minimum).  The applicant must also have been employed by a law enforcement agency within the last 18 months (from when the DPS application was submitted).

How long does the hiring process take?
Every attempt will be made to process you in a timely and efficient manner, usually within 12 to 16 weeks from when you start phase one testing.  However, every applicant's circumstances and backgrounds are different and these time elements can change on a case-by-case basis.

When do I take the PT test?
The physical fitness test is administered during phase one and is a prerequisite to the Qualifications Appraisal Board (QAB). There is no limit on how many times an applicant can take the PT test, however the test must be taken during a scheduled PT test. It is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED the applicant comes to the PT test having already tested themselves using the protocol provided in the application packet and have met or exceeded the requirements. The most undesirable thing an applicant can do is to attend testing and not be able to meet or exceed the requirements to pass.

What if I don’t pass the PT test?
Applicants must pass all events of the PT test. If you do not pass any portion, you must wait until the next scheduled PT test to re-take the entire test over again. Please contact HR at 602.223.2290 to reschedule. 

You must pass the PT test to move on to the written test.  Please remember, even if you pass the PT test and fail either the written or QAB, you MUST restart your process and again pass the PT test.

How should I dress for the physical fitness test?
A t-shirt or sweat shirt, shorts or sweat pants, moisture wicking socks (preferable not all cotton) and running or cross-training shoes are wise choices. Avoid wearing pants or jean shorts. Plan to secure your personal belongings in your vehicle if you don’t plan on carrying them in your pocket. Headphones/iPods, MP3 Players and other similar electronic devices are not allowed during testing as all participants need to be able to hear instructions or verbal information given out during each event, sometimes from a distance away.

If your running shoes are more than two years old or you have walked/ran more than 200 miles in them, it is advised you replace them. However, wearing brand new running shoes to the PT test is not suggested. You should break them in for at least five miles before you wear them to a PT test or starting the academy.

The physical fitness test does not seem too difficult. Do I need to be in shape to pass?
 You must be able to meet the physical fitness standards established by the Department for applicants. These standards are at the remedial basic training academy level so being able to just meet these standards places the applicant at a distinct disadvantage. You are expected to SIGNIFICANTLY improve in all of the physical fitness testing standards before and during the basic training academy.

Physical Conditioning (PC) is an integral part of academy training. You can expect a regular regiment of short and long distance running/sprinting [aerobic] and strength training exercise [anaerobic] to include, but not limited to, push-ups, sit-ups and weight training. Cadets are also expected to be able run at approximately a ten minute per mile pace for at least three miles almost immediately upon starting their basic academy training. You will be challenged physically while at the academy, no matter what your condition is upon entering the academy.

What can I do to prepare myself for the PT test?
The first thing you should do is to consult your physician before you begin any strenuous physical training program. Provide him/her the PT standards you will be expected to meet while performing the PT test. Once you have done that, carefully read over the test protocol so you understand completely what each test consists of. Then, practice each exercise to see where you stand. If you are able to exceed the standards, great; let it serve as a positive mental boost for you going into our testing, keeping in mind, however, you will be challenged physically upon entering the academy.

If you are barely able to meet the standards, you MUST work hard to improve your performance. Just being able to meet the minimum standards for hire at our PT test does not mean you will pass the basic training academy PT training program; it is much harder and demanding. Cadets are regularly dismissed from the basic training academy for not meeting physical fitness standards/benchmarks/expectations. 

If you are not able to meet our PT standards prior to coming out to our test, please seriously consider calling HR to reschedule the PT test since it is a pass/fail event. If you find yourself in that position, identify your weakness(es) and work on them. Consult a personal trainer or look online for exercise routines/suggestions to improve the areas you need to improve.

DRINK PLENTY OF WATER BEFORE, DURING AND AFTER ANY EXERCISE. DRINK PLENTY OF WATER WHENEVER YOU EXERCISE!

We also strongly suggest you read the "Basic Training Academy Physical Fitness Guide For Cadet Officer”.

Are there any study materials to help prepare for the written exam?
There is not anything specifically designed for our written exam. It is a general knowledge exam which covers the areas of reading comprehension, math, memorization, and logical and reasoning. There are companies who have developed study guides to help people study and prepare for the ASVAB, GED, SAT, LSAT, GRE, Police Officer Exam, and Civilian Service Exam, which one can purchase at bookstores or checkout from their local public library. These books do not address our written exam, but they may help one become a better test taker.

What is on the written exam?
The written exam is a 100 question, multiple-choice, general aptitude exam. There are questions in the areas of reading comprehension, vocabulary, logic and reasoning, math skills (applicants should bring a calculator), and memorization exercises. Applicants are allowed 2.5 hours to complete the exam and must pass with a score of 75% or better (Arizona In-State Lateral Officers are waived from the written examination).

How will I know if I passed the written exam?
They are scored immediately and the applicant will know before they leave if they have passed or not.  You must pass the PT and written exams to move on to the QAB/Oral Interview. 

*Applicants must pass each step in the process to move forward.  Applicants must pass the PT, written and QAB examinations in succession of each other.  If any applicant fails any portion of phase one, they must restart at the very beginning of phase one - the PT test.  There will be no re-do's of individual components of phase one, they all must be passed in succession.*

How should I dress for the written test?
You should dress in casual, comfortable clothing. However, do not wear anything offensive or inappropriate. There are numerous times when the written test will be administered immediately after the physical fitness test and you will be asked to travel directly to the written test site in your PT clothes. This is acceptable if we instruct you to do so. However, if there is a reasonable amount of time beforehand, or you are told to change your clothes prior to the written test, bring along your comfortable/casual clothes so you are able to change.

What is the Qualifications Appraisal Board (QAB)?
The QAB is the last step of phase one and is the interview portion of testing. The applicant is scored in a number of areas by the members of the board/panel. The members of the board usually consists of two Officers/Detectives and a Sergeant or above. Areas to be scored include, but are not limited to, appearance, communication skills, knowledge of the Department and functions of an Officer, decision making, critical thinking skills and an oral resume as it relates to the position being applied for.

How should I dress for the Qualification Appraisal Board?
This is a professional interview. Conservative, professional business attire is appropriate. You should dress to impress.

What if I have taken the test before and failed?
If you were unable to successfully pass the physical fitness exam, written test and the Qualifications Appraisal Boards (oral boards), then try again. You must wait a minimum of 30 calendar days to re-take the PT/written tests and a minimum of 60 days to re-take the oral board examination.  You must successfully pass the written and physical fitness tests before participating in the oral boards. We have had several people fail some portion of the hiring process but they came back, tried again, and were successful.

*Applicants must pass each step in the process to move forward.  Applicants must pass the PT, written and QAB examinations in succession of each other.  If any applicant fails any portion of phase one, they must restart at the very beginning of phase one - the PT test.  There will be no re-do's of individual components of phase one, they all must be passed in succession.*

How or where will I be assigned upon completion of my training? Can I select a work assignment or does the Department send me wherever they want?
During the application process, you can indicate up to six areas of the state where you would like to be assigned. You may be asked to consider alternate locations that are available if any areas you have selected are not available. Willingness to go statewide is a plus, but not mandatory. Duty assignments will be made prior to the completion of the academy.

Where are the openings?
Since the Arizona DPS is a statewide agency, we have openings all throughout the state. This area will be discussed with you by Human Resources as you move through the hiring process and as you draw closer to a job offer. Duty assignments will be made prior to the completion of the academy.

I heard new officers will be sent to the remote parts of the state, is this true?
Not necessarily. If an applicant does not indicate on their application where they would like to be assigned, the Department will assign them where the new officer is needed. There are occasions where a new officer will not be offered a position in the area they requested. This situation usually occurs when none of the locations they wished to be assigned is available at the time of job offer. Because of the number of vacancies, options are currently favorable. The Department will work with each applicant to get them where they wish to be assigned, but sometimes this is just not possible.

Where can I get further information about the Arizona Department of Public Safety to prepare for the oral boards?
Our website (www.azdps.gov) Our website (www.azdps.gov) provides extensive information about the Department, its mission, organizational structure, history, and the services we provide.

Any other advice you can give to prepare for the process?
Talk to any and as many Department of Public Safety officers you come in contact with about their experiences. Also, talk to officers from other law enforcement agencies and ask them the same questions but with one additional question: “If you could work for another police department, which one would it be and why?” Many of them will say the Arizona Department of Public Safety.

We ask you to think long and hard about why you want to be a police officer. Is this really what you want to do or is it just something you are curious about? This is not an easy job and many demands are placed upon you and your family. Also, you may be forced to take another person’s life in the course of your duties; are you mentally prepared to do that? Are you aware of the possibility you may be injured or even killed during the course of your duties as a police officer? We ask you to think long and hard about these issues as they are real. Discuss the issues with your family, as they can and do occur.

At least one ride along is highly recommended. The ride along completion form can be found below. Please complete the form prior to completing your ride along and return it to one of the DPS Area Offices.

What is the pay?
Cadet Officers earn an annual salary of $38,335 while in training at the Pre-Academy and the Arizona Law Enforcement (basic training) Academy (approximately 20 weeks). Upon graduation and certification, Cadets are promoted to Officer (entry level), with an annual salary of $44,724.99.

State employees are also subject to annual pay increases as determined by the state legislature and the Governor, depending on the state budget. DPS sworn classifications are also annually reviewed under a program called “pay parity” (Arizona Revised Statute 41-1720) where equivalent classifications are compared with other statewide law enforcement agencies pay levels to ensure DPS sworn personnel are paid the average of the five highest paid agencies surveyed, subject to legislative approval.

Qualified Certified Officers (regardless of length of prior service) who laterally transfer to the agency will receive the Officer Entry annual salary of $44,724.99.

Progression through the Officer classification includes Officer Midpoint (years 4 through 6 of DPS employment as an Officer) with a current salary of $53,692.91 and Officer Maximum (6 years or more of DPS employment as an Officer) salary of $62,660.

The department will make the determination as to what pay level a lateral officer will be given upon an offer of employment being made.

How would I receive veteran’s preference points?
If you have been honorably discharged from active duty, then present a copy of your “member 4” copy of your DD 214 at the time of the written exam.   Veterans who separated from the military under honorable conditions will be awarded five (5) additional points to an already passing score at the end of phase one testing. Human resources must receive a legible "Member 4" copy of the DD-214 form before the end of phase one.

Can I receive GI bill benefits while in training?
Yes. Employees can elect to draw on their GI Bill while they attend the basic and advanced academies as well as field training, under the certification program. The Arizona Department of Public Safety’s training program has been approved by the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) for continued training. The Basic Training Academy (ALEA) qualifies for VA benefits. Veterans can apply and receive VA benefits during the Academy and Field Training Program that are currently set at $753.00 per month and $522.20 per month, respectively.

  • More information can be found at www.va.gov New Window  or;
    Information specific to Arizona Veteran's Services at www.azdvs.gov New Window

I am a member of the Guard or Reserves. How will this affect my ability to be an officer with the Arizona Department of Public Safety?
We have many sworn officers and civilian employees who have a Guard or Reserve commitment. The Department is very grateful for their service to the citizens of our state and our country. Our employees are part of our extended family and we treat them as such. They attend weekend drill, annual training, and activations while maintaining their employment status with the Department. The units will let their service members know the training dates and obligation far in advance, many times a year out. Remember, if you are a member of the Guard or Reserves, you need to keep your supervisor informed about training dates and obligations to avoid any scheduling conflicts.

Does the Department offer time off to attend drills, annual training, or activations?
The Department provides military leave to its employees that consists of up to 30 – 8 hour work days every two years (240 hours) in addition to one’s vacation and compensatory time earned. Just keep your supervisor informed about your military commitments.

What is a “Lateral Officer”?
A lateral officer is an individual who already possesses in/out of state peace officer certification.

Does the Department accept lateral officers?
Yes. We encourage officers from other law enforcement agencies to consider a career with us.

Does the Department accept out-of-state officers?
Out of state officers are encouraged to apply and will go through the same process utilized for a Cadet Officer position. Once the out of state officer successfully completes the first phase of the selection process, they are given a conditional job offer. The conditions being they must pass a background investigation, polygraph, psychological exam, medical exam and drug test -- the components of the second phase of testing and be approved for hire by management.

The Department will then hire and sponsor the out of state officer to take the waiver certification examination administered by AZ POST. The applicant will be hired and paid as a cadet officer while in the waiver certification examination process. This test will only be administered after the out of state officer has completed a separate application to AZ POST and has also provided copies of their respective training records for AZ POST to review. AZ POST will review the applicant’s training records and determine if the records meet or exceed the basic training requirements for the State of Arizona Basic Peace Officer Certification. The out of state officer then takes a written test, physical aptitude test (POPAT), driving skills test and a firearms test. Once the out of state officer has successfully passed these exams, the out of state officer bypasses basic training and is granted State of Arizona Peace Officer certification and attends the Department’s advanced training academy located at the AZ DPS headquarters in Phoenix.

Does AZ POST accept peace officer certifications from every state in the union?
No, they do not. Every out-of-state lateral applicant is dealt with on a case-by- case basis. AZ POST makes the decision as to whether or not an out-of-state lateral applicant’s respective state certification is in compliance with AZ POST standards. Please go to the AZ POST website using the link below to learn about the peace officer waiver process for out-of-state lateral officers.

IF YOU ARE A FEDERALLY CERTIFIED OFFICER ONLY (WITH NO CURRENT OR PREVIOUS STATE CERTIFICATION), IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED YOU CONTACT AZ POST (WWW.AZPOST.GOV) TO DETERMINE IF THEY WILL ACCEPT YOUR FEDERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATION; MANY TIMES THEY DO NOT*.

Why do I have to attend an advanced academy, I am already a certified Officer?
ALL sworn personnel (either coming out of basic training or hired as a lateral officer) must attend the advanced academy. Many of the areas covered during this period are specific to the job of an Arizona DPS Officer and many are either not taught at basic training level or are expanded upon during advanced training. Examples of some of these courses include, but are not limited to: Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus training, commercial vehicle inspection, advanced traffic/criminal law, advanced collision investigation, semi-automatic rifle training, Taser training, advanced defensive tactics training, advanced firearms training and advanced emergency vehicle operations.

Are there any situations where DPS will not accept an AZ POST certified officer for a lateral hire?
Yes. If the AZ POST certified officer has not been employed as a peace officer in the last 18 months or whose certification has lapsed [not having attended an AZ POST approved training course in the last three years]. These applicants will have to go through the lateral officer waiver process administered through AZ POST.

Note: Arizona Department of Corrections AZ POST Correctional Officer certification is not the same as AZ POST Peace Officer certification. Correctional Officers who wish to work for us will be processed as cadet officer applicants and will attend pre, basic and advanced training academies with our agency upon being hired for a sworn position.

As an out-of-state lateral, will my retirement transfer to Arizona?
There is not a direct transfer of retirement money or time of service to the Arizona Public Safety Personnel Retirement System [PSPRS] for out-of-state officers. There is a way the funds can transfer (by means of rolling the funds into some kind of tax sheltered account such as an IRA, 401(k) or Certificate of Deposit (CD), then placing it into the PSPRS after you have applied and gone through their process). Year-for-year time will not transfer but you can take advantage of the “buy back” option to credit your prior years. Please visit their PSPRS website for further information, link below.

What can I expect when I begin the pre-basic training academy?
You will take part in a one week pre-basic training academy, held at the DPS training compound in Phoenix.  During that time, you will meet the other cadets from DPS whom you will be attending the basic academy with.  You will also meet representatives from DPS and a representative from the basic training academy staff where you will be given a preview of what basic training is at the academy. 

You will be expected to follow a very strict and regimented training schedule, dress code, code of conduct and physical fitness program.  You WILL be exposed to high levels of physical and emotional stressors while in pre and basic academy training; just as police officers are in the field.  You must be able to maintain your composure, bearing and professionalism in the face of mental and physical adversity.  These are just some of the areas you will be tested in and evaluated upon while in the pre and basic training academies.

What will the physical fitness expectations be while in basic training?
During the very beginning of basic training, you will be given a series of physical fitness tests to see what your level of physical conditioning is.  These include, but are not limited to, a 1.5 mile run, sit-ups, push-ups, 300 and/or 500 meter sprints, agility courses, obstacle courses, 6 foot solid wall climb, 6 foot chain link climb and a 165-pound body drag.

Physical Conditioning (PC) is an integral part of academy training. You can expect a regular regiment of short and long distance running/sprinting [aerobic] on varied terrains such as hills, canal banks, dirt, asphalt, concrete and rocky, uneven surfaces.  There is also a component of strength training exercise [anaerobic] to include, but not limited to, push-ups, sit-ups and weight training.

Cadets are also expected to be able run at approximately a ten minute per mile pace for at least three miles almost immediately upon starting their basic academy training. You will also be expected to run, and keep up with, distances anywhere from one to ten miles.  You will be challenged physically while at the academy, no matter what your condition is upon entering the academy.

When does the academy start?
DPS sends Cadets to the basic training academy several times throughout the year (normally 4 to 6 times).  It is a multi-agency, non-residential academy. New hires may be hired in advance of an academy start date, depending on the needs of the Department.

Where is the academy?
The Arizona Law Enforcement Academy (ALEA) is located at the base of South Mountain in Phoenix.

How long is the academy?
One week of Pre-academy at DPS headquarters, 18 weeks at ALEA, and 10 weeks of Advanced Academy training at DPS headquarters in Phoenix.  ALEA Cadets work five, 8-hour days and Advanced Basic Officers work four, 10-hour days.

Is the ALEA academy a live-in academy?
No. Recruits travel back and forth from their residences on a daily basis Monday through Friday.

What is the Advanced academy and where is it?
Advanced training is a 10-week course all basic academy graduates and lateral officers must attend. It is a block of training supervised by a DPS Sergeant and several current DPS Officers/Detectives acting as class advisors for the new Officers. The instruction centers on training either not obtained during the basic academy or the training specific to DPS operations. This training is held at the DPS advanced training compound at the DPS headquarters in Phoenix.

Why does the Department require so much more training than other departments?
The Department has statewide law enforcement authority along with additional responsibilities either established by state law or mandates not required of other agencies. We specialize in many areas and are a full-service law enforcement agency. Our officers must have specialized training to effectively implement these responsibilities.

What is the Field Training Program (FTO)?
The purpose of the Field Training Program is to produce a qualified, professional, solo Highway Patrol officer. The field training period is the most important time for a new officer. The Department’s Field Training Program is designed to take the academic knowledge the new officer has learned and observe them apply this knowledge in a practical setting. This setting is supervised by a trained and knowledgeable senior officer (Field Training Instructor) who will document the new officer’s performance.

How long is the Field Training Program?
The Field Training Program is ten (10) weeks and will be split into two consecutive five-week phases. Each phase will be under the direction of a different Field Training Instructor. The training process may be extended to a maximum of fourteen (14) weeks.

What if I am already a certified officer going from the Advanced Academy to the field? Don’t I go right to the field and start working solo?
No. ALL officers (brand new or laterals) must take part in the FTO program. Certified officers who are able to meet all of the training objectives of the Field Training Manual may have the FTO period reduced up to five weeks. This decision will be made by the new Officers’ chain of command in concurrence with the FTO coordinator.

How many officers is the Arizona Department of Public Safety hiring?
The Department is currently seeking to fill current and future vacancies throughout the State, depending on the needs of the State.

What is the AZ POST?
After you graduate advanced training, you will be assigned to two separate field training instructors. Upon successful complete of field training, you will work in a unit (either on a squad or area system) under the supervision of a Sergeant.

What shifts do officers work?
Officers work a variety of shifts, weekends and holidays. Since law enforcement is a 24/7 operation, it must be staffed accordingly. Shifts are determined and established by each patrol district’s chain of command. There are no guarantees what shift an officer will work while assigned to patrol duties. Depending on the area, some squads/areas are on static [unchanging] shifts while others rotate on a regular basis. Officers are also subject to call-outs. This is more common in the rural areas of the state.

What type of equipment does the Department provide its officers?
The Department issues a full range of equipment to its employees, based upon need and job assignment. Most sworn officers in the state are issued a take home vehicle [marked or unmarked, depending on assignment] as they are subject to call-outs for service during emergency situations. Officers are also issued a duty weapon, leather gear and a Taser. Other law enforcement implements may be issued at the district level depending on funding and need.

Does the department offer a uniform allowance, and if so, how much?
The department offers a uniform allowance of $1,000.00 per year and is evenly distributed twice a year (January and August). The Department also offers body armor reimbursement up to $1,000.00.

How soon can I promote?
In order for an Officer to promote to Sergeant, the Officer must have at least four (4) years of full-time experience as an AZ DPS Officer (regardless of whether they were a lateral/certified Officer with another agency), have received at least standard ratings for the prior twelve months and meet the minimum qualifications for the rank of Sergeant.

What type of assignments can I expect in my law enforcement career with the Arizona Department of Public Safety?
Just as in any job, public or private sector, you have the potential to experience many different assignments within the Department. Your career will be what you choose to make of it. There are many different assignments you can select from and experience during your career. Some of these are (not an all inclusive list): S.W.A.T, explosive ordnance detail, governors protection, aviation, motorcycle patrol, K-9, hazardous material, intelligence, anti-terrorism, white collar/financial/computer crimes, special investigations, criminal investigations, commercial vehicle detail, gang enforcement, vehicle theft interdiction and illegal immigration enforcement.

How soon can I become a detective?
Officers who wish to transfer over to detectives (Criminal Investigations Division) usually need to have three years experience as a patrol officer. These officers should also have experience in criminal investigations while on patrol and the most qualified officers possess training, experience and education commensurate with criminal investigations related duties.